Session 1: Bert starts therapy

                                       

I have secrets.

 Okay.

……………………….

……………………….

……………………….

 Awful secrets.

 Okay.

……………………….

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

.

Stuff I could never tell anyone.

I understand.

……………………….

……………………….

………………………. 

  

Are you going to make me talk about them? 

Nope.

……………………….

……………………….

……………………….

……………………….

…………………………….

Why not?

My job is to accept you as you are.

……………………….

……………………….

……………………….

It is? 

……………………….

Yup.

……………………….

……………………….

………………………..

. . . . . . . .

……………………….

……………………….

……………………….

 

May I see your diploma?


11 responses to “Session 1: Bert starts therapy

  • Rhonda McBride

    YAY!!! Bert started therapy!!!

  • Geoff M. Pope

    Hey, Bert. Before your next session, please watch *The King’s Speech*. Like Bertie, in the movie, I expect you haven’t been cussing enough. I’ll let Steve take over from here re The Acceptance Stuff, etc.

    • fritzfreud

      Au contraire, Geoff. I curse all the time. Unfortunately it’s usually myself I’m cursing….
      Oh, well. At least I’m in therapy now. 🙂

  • john

    Hey Burt how are you this week? Things are ok here I have a busy week being therapized, (thats a good thing) but you are talking about a word that when I here it I want to immediatley puke, My experience with secrets is like you said everyone has them and that is too bad!!!!! But I will leave you with this which Im sure you have heard smart little monkey that you are, But for anyone who hasn’t “Your as sick as your secrets, But as healthy as your honest” I really like the second half, I have had a couple of “minor” set backs but my plan B is all about honesty,,,,,,, talk to you next week!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Cathy | Treatment Talk

    I love Burt – that is so great. I agree, you are as sick as your secrets and when you have things you feel you need to hide, you feel shame. What I have recently realized is that shame is so much worse than guilt. Guilt – you feel bad about the incident. Shame – you feel you are a defective person. Sometimes we learn shame from childhood, which then leads to things like substance abuse to feel better. It’s wonderful to talk about these feelings and get it all out in the open. Thanks!

    • fritzfreud

      Thanks, Cathy. Yeah, shame is the one feeling that’s always puzzled me, mainly because I could never figure out what purpose it serves. I mean, guilt serves to reenforce my values. Fear warns me of danger. Anger mobilizes me in a conflict. Even sadness informs me when I’m experiencing loss. But shame just tells me I’m defective or inadequate as a person, and for the life of me I can’t see any benefit in that.

  • Debra Carroll, RN

    WOW…..simple and very powerful

  • Lora Rossi (The Hugging Home)

    Great. Love this blog. Lora here…visiting from The Hugging Home at http://www.thehugginghome.com. I think anyone would benefit by following both blogs. Great stuff!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.