Chapter 50: About caretaking

 

(This chapter is part of a self-assessment. For instructions on completing it, click here.)

 

 

[ ]   I am drawn to needy or unhappy people.

[ ]   Needy or unhappy people are drawn to me.                                      

[ ]   I feel responsible for the happiness of others.

[ ]   I tend to anticipate other people’s needs.                               

[ ]   It bothers me that other people don’t anticipate my needs more.                  

[ ]   I feel anxious or guilty when someone else has a problem.              

[ ]   I feel compelled to help others with their problems, even when they don’t want me to.                  

[ ]   I feel angry when my help isn’t welcomed.                   

[ ]   I feel angry when my help isn’t effective.                             

[ ]   I feel compelled to offer unsolicited opinions or advice.                                                      

[ ]   I pay more attention to the needs and feelings of others than my own.                                

[ ]   I feel selfish if I prioritize my needs and feelings over someone else’s. 

[ ]  I feel bored, empty or worthless when I’m not helping someone.                                        

[ ]   I feel safest when giving.                                                       

[ ]   I feel embarrassed or unworthy when others give to me.                      

[ ]   I end up resenting the people I caretake.

 

NEXT:  About feelings                          


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.