Chapter 55: About parenting

 

(This chapter is part of a self-assessment. For instructions on completing it, click here.)

 

 

[ ]   I am a “helicopter” parent – anxious, hypervigilant, and/or overprotective.                        

[ ]   I worry that my parenting is not good enough.           

[ ]   If my kids are unhappy, I’m unhappy. 

[ ]   If my kids are happy, I worry it will end.

[ ]   I take my kids’ problems and failures personally.                                                                                

[ ]   I’m reluctant to let my kids make bad choices or learn from their own  mistakes.                            

[ ]   I get hurt or enraged when my kids disagree with me or don’t do what I ask.

[ ]   When my kids disagree with me it feels like disloyalty or disrespect.                                  

[ ]   I criticize my kids in an attempt to be “helpful.”        

[ ]   I blame, threaten, coerce, beg, bribe, or use guilt to get my kids to comply with my wishes.

[ ]   I often feel unappreciated by my children.

[ ]   My kids complain that I try to control them.                                                 

[ ]   I secretly fear that my kids will reject or abandon me.                                                                    

[ ]   I grew up with controlling parents or grandparents.

 

NEXT: About self-care

 

                             


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.