Discomfort is always a sign

*

We’re not born constipated. 

We’re born healthy little animals,

able to trust what our bodies tell us

and automatically expel waste products. 

Then in childhood we begin hearing

messages like Quiet down and

Big boys don’t cry or Don’t cry or

I’ll give you something to cry about. 

Surrounded by giants on whom we

depend for food, shelter, love and

security, we have no choice but to

follow such instructions.

Voila.  Constipation.

~ Steve Hauptman, Shit

*


3 responses to “Discomfort is always a sign

  • Eunice Fields

    Hi Steve. It’s been a while since I’ve posted. Wanted to let you know that I’m enjoying your posts and they really help me think and grow. I can’t begin to tell you how much has changed in the 10 years since I first found you/your writing. But am so appreciative of your talent/efforts!

  • alisonlowrie

    I

    Hi Steve

    I too have found your posts to be essential in my recovery towards a healthier human. In particular the one about handling Crazy and this post above. I have been able to apply this need to express to myself and others with good outcomes.

    I find that when I need something I look through your posts and the answer presents itself in your words.

    Thankyou, again

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.