Only connect

23. Only connect [B]

9 responses to “Only connect

  • NextInLine

    I don’t understand. and you are my guru. So I feel incredibly stupid. Sorry.

    • Steve Hauptman

      Please don’t feel that way. Taken out of context, “Only connect” is pretty vague, a sort of verbal inkblot to which each reader brings his or her associations.

      To me it’s always meant that there’s nothing more important than relationship, than moving beyond our fear and defenses to know and be known by another person.

      The full quotation, from Forster’s HOWARDS END, goes like this:

      “Only connect! That was the whole of her sermon. Only connect the prose and the passion, and both will be exalted, and human love will be seen at its height. Live in fragments no longer. Only connect, and the beast and the monk, robbed of the isolation that is life to either, will die.”

  • sexytherapy

    Reblogged this on Sex, kłamstwa & terapia and commented:
    Nie widzimy czasem innych. Ich bólu, cierpienia może. Nie umiemy może spojrzeć w siebie nawzajem, żeby zobaczyć swoje pragnienia, swoje samotności, swoje ułomności. A przecież wszyscy na tym samym wózku jedziemy.

    “Nie, nie jestem [sama]. Jestem taka jak wszyscy na tym głupim, cholernym, zdumiewającym świecie. Niedoskonała. Nawet bardzo. Ale pełna nadziei. Nadal jestem sobą”.
    L.Bray

    • Steve Hauptman

      Thanks, Izabela, for the quotation from Libba Bray, which you were kind enough to translate for me as:

      “No, I’m not alone. I am just like everybody else in this stupid, shitty, amazing world. Imperfect. Truly imperfect. But full of hope. Still remaining myself.”

    • Steve Hauptman

      Translation of “Nie widzimy czasem…”:

      Sometimes we don’t see others. Their pain, their suffering maybe. We don’t know how to look into each other, into our desires, into our loneliness, into our limitations. Even though we are all in the same boat.

  • NextInLine

    This all makes a lot more sense now. Thank you. This, “To me it’s always meant that there’s nothing more important than relationship, than moving beyond our fear and defenses to know and be known by another person,” makes sense and addresses one of my own very sticky wickets. That imperfection in all of us is inevitable , the ability to see others and connect is essential to humanity but can be horribly frightening.

  • LongingForStars

    Beautiful. I did not get it before your explanation but now I find it beautiful. I love how you convey so much through simple posts. It is good to have you back. You have been missed.

  • Nance

    Wow!! Newbie here & I was so connected with the “only connect” comments of the genuine people here that I realized thru connecting with others, connected me “back” with myself at the same time. to connect with others is to be connected with self. thank you to all here for that! Ive been trapped with “chickenshitters” & “bullshitters” for so long, I started to “elephantshit” myself! ha ha ha

Leave a Reply

