On denial

1. I have a problem I cannot solve.

2. This problem makes me feel scared, helpless and inadequate.

3. To defend against these feelings, I pretend I don’t have this problem.

4. I have a problem I cannot solve.

~ From the forthcoming Monkeytraps in Everyday Life: A Guide for Control Addicts.

One response to “On denial

  • the1313

    You are really hitting me in the gut with these. Especially about being inadequate. I let my mistakes in the past rule my future instead of learning from them. This all lead to fear for me. I refuse to deny or be fearful anymore. That said. It is not so easy to do that but I am working on it. Yes I still want to control but I am learning to step back and breathe and let what will be, be.

Leave a Reply

