The dust settles

Dust -------------------------------------------

Life is difficult.  

This is a great truth, one of the greatest truths….

[Because] once it is accepted, the fact that life is difficult no longer matters.

~ M. Scott Peck, The Road Less Traveled

xx

Control is often impossible.

This is another one of the great truths.

It’s a great truth because once you accept it, how you see yourself and your life changes.

Lying in bed at night, thinking of all those realities beyond your control, you reach a point where you can say to yourself,

There I go again.  Trying to control the uncontrollable.

And at that point the dust settles.

And your mind calms down.

And you see that you haven’t been failing or inadequate.

You’ve just been trying to do the impossible.

And suddenly life’s uncontrollability no longer matters.

Since, if there’s nothing you can do, there’s nothing you must do.

And you can relax a little.

And you can sleep.

4 responses to “The dust settles

  • juliemac30

    Okay Bert, you win; I need therapy to deal with my control issues. Problem is, I’m Canadian and most social services here seem to be a few decades behind in their therapeutic practice. I wish you had group therapy on Skype or something. So glad I found you on LinkedIn. Thank you

    • Steve Hauptman

      Thanks, Julie. Glad we found you too. 🙂
      Actually some sort of online course or therapy group is part of my master plan.
      I expect to start publishing my book online later this month.
      Then I’ll offer the book for sale this coming spring.
      Then I’ll offer other books, individual sessions, courses and groups to interested readers.
      But I’ve already begun some individual phone and Skype consults.
      If that interests you, email me at fritzfreud@aol.com.
      best,
      ~ Steve

  • alexis

    All so true! Letting go is the most important capacity I have learned in this life, so far. I have my daughter to thank for that one [I always remember my crucial teachers]!

Leave a Reply

