Backhand

Once in a while I publish something here that pisses someone off.

That happened recently, when three different people indicated they thought I had written a post about them.

As much as I hate upsetting anyone, I sort of like when this happens.

I take it as confirmation that I’ve identified some idea or pattern or symptom or need or problem or solution to which readers can relate.  You know, something real.  It’s a sort of backhanded validation.

So if I offend anyone, I apologize in advance.

And thanks for the compliment.

 

8 responses to “Backhand

  • Leslee

    In my humble opinion you hit the mark with every post. I sometimes feel sad about how many of your posts resonate with me.

    • Steve Hauptman

      Thanks, Leslee. Bert appreciates the reassurance. 🙂

      As for resonating, they all resonate with me too (or I wouldn’t write them). But that leaves me feeling less sad than connected. We’re all monkeys on this bus.

  • Phil

    Feel free to use your experiences with me as an example. The past few weeks have been really good reads.

  • Eunice

    Steve~ i have been following your writings/thoughts for the past few years. I don’t see why others are pissed off or angry, clearly you have written all of your articles about me. Just joking to some degree, of course, but you have really enlightened me as well as others. I am so happy to see your daily messages, and go back to other blogs/writings to see what I have overlooked or need to work on in my current relationships. Thank you for pissing me off and making me angry AT MY SELF. Blessings to you!

    • Steve Hauptman

      Thanks, Eunice. I actually hesitated before posting “Backhand,” worrying I might get myself into even more trouble. But the replies from you and others have made me glad I did. Blessings to you too. 🙂

  • Simona

    Ha ha! I think it’s called “hitting a nerve”. Love your posts!

Leave a Reply

