I got out of bed on two strong legs

***

*

Otherwise

.

I got out of bed

on two strong legs.

It might have been

otherwise.  I ate

cereal, sweet

milk, ripe, flawless

peach.  It might

have been otherwise.

I took the dog uphill

to the birch wood.

All morning I did

the work I love.

.

At noon I lay down

with my mate.  It might

have been otherwise.

We ate dinner together

at a table with silver

candlesticks.  It might

have been otherwise.

I slept in a bed

in a room with paintings

on the walls, and

planned another day

just like this day.

But one day, I know,

it will be otherwise.

.

~ Jane Kenyon

 

 

*

*

4 responses to “I got out of bed on two strong legs

  • Clare Flourish

    Gather ye rosebuds while ye may…
    and be thankful

  • John

    “Calm Before the Storm” – Mary Baine Campbell

    Between the Brattle and the bookstore
    A hundred yards of wet brick pavement
    Fancy with yellow leaves: I wore
    A red jacket, carried a red umbrella
    Had a little fever, had a little cough
    Was alive, passed a newspaper box
    Saw no wars in the headlines
    Had no bad news from the doctor
    Not yet, was alive, was in love
    Had waterproof boots on, it was only
    A few yards to the bookstore
    On an autumn night, the bookstore
    Full of good books and yellow light, I was
    Still alive, there was no evidence
    Of terminal illness, there were no wars
    In the headlines, I have always
    Loved the fall the beautiful dead
    Bodies of the leaves scattered
    On the battlefield of earth and my own
    Life persisting.

    (Appearing in Ideas, Vol. 5, No. 2, 1998)

Leave a Reply

