The tribe: Expectations

 

Most people feel anxious in group without really understanding why.

1

2

member 1

3

4

1=

2=

Personally I think it’s because, on some deep level, the group reminds us of our family of origin.

1

2

member 2

3

4

5

 

2=

And we expect it to treat us just as our family did.

1

2

member 3

3

4

1=

2a

=

So tell me.  If this group were your family, what would you be expecting now?

1

2

member 4

3

4

1=

2=

therapist 5

1

2

To get hit.

3

4

5

6

1=

2=

1

2

3

4

5

1

To get humiliated.

3=

\

 

therapist 7

1

2

To be told to shut up.

3

4

5

1=

2=

1=

therapist 8

1

2

3

4

To be ignored.

3

4

1=

2=

Pink?  What would you expect?

1

2

member 9

3

4

5

1=

2=

therapist 10

1

2

3

All of the above.

3

4

5

1=

2=

Jeez.

1

2

member 11

3

4

5

6

1=

2=

So you all have good reason to feel anxious in this room.

1

2

member 12

3

4

5

1=

 

2=

But I have to ask Pink:

1

2

member 13

3

4

5

1=

2=a

 

How’d you work up the courage to even come here?

1

2

member 14

3

4

5

1=

2=

therapist 15

1

2

3

Two beers, half a pizza, and a Vicodin.

3

4

5

6

7

* * *

  

Group therapy. 

In Hebrew. 

“Hello, this is Fear Management. 

“My name is Moni, and I too have a phobia. 

“I have a fear of shouting. 

“You know, a, h, h, h, exclamantion mark, ‘ahhh’!

“At this point I suggest we all tell about ourselves…” 

 

Excerpt from the Israeli TV show “Ktzarim”:  Five troubled people (that description includes the group leader) meet for group therapy.  In Hebrew with English subtitles (2:22).

 

* * *

 

Overheard at the House:

Eventually, and every time, I used to drive my current partner insane with my hang ups and he broke off the relationship….

So I decided only I could change and needed to put my – sorry to be blunt – infantile behaviour aside and choose blind trust, no matter the outcome….

Result: I came to accept that my life is my life and not dependent on anyone else for survival or safety – and in a way I was going to be alone, with or without a partner: it’s part of the human condition….

 

Come. 

Join the conversation

Monkey House.

Because we’re all monkeys on this bus.

 

 

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

